Off on a different foot

Unlike the previous years, I didn’t have a routine or “ritual” for the last day of 2015 to prepare for the new year. I went through the motions of what I had to do for the day, particularly helping my cousin during his very special photo shoot. I had no ceremonial room cleaning to throw the clutter away, no last story writing of the year, no planning of what I wanted to accomplish this 2016.

When midnight came, I wasn’t even awake. I was half asleep, dreaming of changing table settings while listening to the sound of fireworks by the bedroom window. I didn’t want to get up because my body craved for more than an hour and a half nap and I was already so comfortable. But, I got out of bed eventually, after almost ten minutes, just to be a part of the moment too. I walked around the house, kissed my parents, drank a glass of water, greeted everyone else and then, retreated back to bed.

I guess, though I claim to have no resolution for 2016, what I’m hoping to start the year with is peace of mind or something like that. I don’t want to be overwhelmed with having to cram in order to fix my last year’s clutter. I don’t want to be forced to have to change and evaluate my life just because it’s a new year. I want to start my 2016, knowing that being a better person is an everyday choice, a work in progress for every waking moment. Not a one time big time thing. So, instead of pressuring myself to committing to big promises, I’ll make sure I get the little things right.

Hello, 2016!

Leave a Reply

